Defence officers command units and run the technical, logistics and administrative branches of the Army, Navy and Air Force.
Read this first. This page rests on 4 dated pay figures, each from a named source. That is evidence of what those sources state, not of what Defence Officer roles pay across India.
●VERIFIED
≡4 observations
◷Latest 2026-05-20
Salary✓VERIFIED4 obs · MEDIUM
Demand—INSUFFICIENT
Skills—INSUFFICIENT
Location◐LIMITED32 cities · PLFS state factor
Industry↑SIGNAL+9% projected 2026 (Aon)
What the work is
Commissioned officers join at the rank of Lieutenant or its Navy and Air Force equivalent and are paid on the defence pay matrix, with Military Service Pay on top of basic pay. The figures on this page come from the pay table printed in UPSC's Combined Defence Services notice.
How people enter it
NDA after Class 12
UPSC's National Defence Academy and Naval Academy examination leads to training at the NDA.
CDS for graduates
Graduates take UPSC's Combined Defence Services examination for the Indian Military Academy, the Naval Academy, the Air Force Academy or the Officers' Training Academy.
SSB interview
Candidates who clear the written exam go through a Services Selection Board interview and a medical examination.
Other entries
Technical graduate, NCC special and other service-specific entries are advertised by each service.
What the pay figures say
Four dated figures are on file. All four come from employers' own notices. The latest took effect on 20 May 2026. Each card says what the figure is; open "How the figure is read" for the method and what it leaves out.
Indian Armed Forces (Government of India) · Lieutenant Colonel (Level 12A)₹14,54,400 a year
Indian Armed Forces (Government of India) · Lieutenant (Level 10) · Captain (Level 10B)₹6,73,200 a year
Basic pay × 12: Lieutenant ₹56,100 · Captain ₹61,300 per month (+ MSP) Commissioned officers, Army/Navy/Air Force
Employer noticeUPSC CDS (II) 2026 notice, Appendix IV · effective 20 May 2026
How the figure is read
Lieutenant, Level 10, ₹56,100 per month × 12 as the figure; band to Captain, Level 10B, ₹61,300. Military Service Pay of ₹15,500 per month is additional and shown as context. Starting basic pay of the level × 12; excludes DA, HRA and other allowances.
Limits. Basic pay only; MSP, DA, HRA and risk/hardship allowances excluded. Promotion timelines are not stated by the source, so higher ranks are not assigned to experience bands.
Rank: pay steps up with each rank — Lieutenant at level 10, Captain 10B, Major 11 and Lieutenant Colonel 12A.
Military Service Pay is added to basic pay from Lieutenant to Brigadier.
Posting: field, flying, high-altitude and other allowances depend on where and how an officer serves.
Questions
What do the Defence Officer posts on this page pay?
Indian Armed Forces (Government of India), Lieutenant Colonel (Level 12A): Lieutenant Colonel basic × 12 (Level 12A), recorded here as ₹14,54,400 a year (UPSC CDS (II) 2026 notice, Appendix IV). Indian Armed Forces (Government of India), Major (Level 11): Major basic × 12 (Level 11), recorded here as ₹8,32,800 a year (UPSC CDS (II) 2026 notice, Appendix IV). Indian Armed Forces (Government of India), Lieutenant to Brigadier: Military Service Pay × 12 (fixed, in addition to basic), recorded here as ₹1,86,000 a year (UPSC CDS (II) 2026 notice, Appendix IV). Indian Armed Forces (Government of India), Lieutenant (Level 10) · Captain (Level 10B): Basic pay × 12: Lieutenant ₹56,100 · Captain ₹61,300 per month (+ MSP), recorded here as ₹6,73,200 a year (UPSC CDS (II) 2026 notice, Appendix IV).
Is that the take-home pay?
No. A figure given as basic pay leaves out dearness allowance, house rent allowance and the other allowances paid on top of it, and it is before income tax and provident fund or NPS deductions. The CTC breakup calculator on this site works out a monthly in-hand figure from a CTC.
What is Military Service Pay?
A fixed monthly amount paid to officers from Lieutenant to Brigadier in addition to basic pay. The CDS notice cited on this page states it; the figure is shown above as a separate line, because it is an allowance, not basic pay.
Context only; basic pay only. An allowance in addition to basic pay; not pay. Basic pay only; MSP, DA, HRA and risk/hardship allowances excluded. Promotion timelines are not stated by the source, so higher ranks are not assigned to experience bands.
Aliases this role answers to
army officer · navy officer · air force officer · nda · cds · defence
Run the intelligence
Enter your experience, location and pay to see market value, position, gap and confidence for this role.
Roles in Government & Public Sector first, then the rest of the covered set. Listed so a comparison is one click away — no role is ranked above another, and a role appears here only when it has sourced observations of its own.