CA. Akhilesh Kumarcaakhilesh.in
PERSONAL FINANCERBI Credit CardRules: What Applies,and From WhenA card bill paid up to three days after thedue date costs no late fee and is notreported to the credit bureaus; from…CA Akhilesh Kumar· caakhilesh.inRBI CREDIT CARD RULES · WHAT APPLIES, AND FROM WHEN20223-DAY RULE1 JUL 2026WEEKLY REPORTS1 JAN 2027NO BUNDLING1 APR 2027REWORDEDPAID 3 DAYS LATENo late fee, not reported as past duePAID ON DAY 4Late fee, on the unpaid amount onlyCREDIT BUREAUUpdated as on the 9th, 16th, 23rd and month-endADD-ONSA card cannot be tied to insurance you must buyRBI CARD DIRECTIONS 2025 PARA 23(5) · CI REPORTING · RBC AMENDMENTS3 daysAfter the duedate, before alate fee or…4 times a monthBanks' updatesto the creditbureaus…1 January 2027When the banon compulsorybundling…RBI CREDIT CARD RULES · WHAT APPLIES, AND FROM WHEN20223-DAY RULE1 JUL 2026WEEKLY REPORTS1 JAN 2027NO BUNDLING1 APR 2027REWORDEDPAID 3 DAYS LATENo late fee, not reported as past duePAID ON DAY 4Late fee, on the unpaid amount onlyCREDIT BUREAUUpdated as on the 9th, 16th, 23rd and month-endADD-ONSA card cannot be tied to insurance you must buyRBI CARD DIRECTIONS 2025 PARA 23(5) · CI REPORTING · RBC AMENDMENTSNº 37
Personal Finance · 10 min read

RBI's Credit Card Rules: the 3-Day Grace on Late Fees, Weekly Credit-Score Reporting and the Bundled-Sale Ban

Three RBI card rules are doing the rounds, and two of them usually come with the wrong date. The 3-day grace before a late fee is not new: it has been the rule since 2022. Credit reports updated four times a month did start on 1 July 2026. The ban on tying a card or loan to insurance you must buy, and on dark patterns, starts on 1 January 2027, not July. What each rule says in RBI's own words, worked examples, and what to do when a bank breaks one.

By CA Akhilesh Kumar ACA, Institute of Chartered Accountants of India (2022) · Gurgaon
Personal FinanceCards

Three Reserve Bank rules on credit cards keep appearing in lists of what changed this year: a 3-day grace before a late fee, weekly credit-score updates, and a ban on forced bundling. They are real rules. But two of them usually come with the wrong date, and the dates matter. The grace period is not new. The reporting change has already started. The bundling ban has not started yet. This guide takes each one from RBI's own text, shows what it means for a bill or a credit report, and ends with the older card rights that still go unused.

Written on 29 October 2026. The rules are quoted from RBI's Credit Cards and Debit Cards Directions, 2025 (updated as on 1 October 2026), its amendment of 27 April 2026, the Credit Information Reporting amendments of 4 December 2025, and the Responsible Business Conduct amendments of 15 June 2026, all read on rbi.org.in. They are the versions for commercial banks; RBI issued matching rules for other banks and NBFCs. A bank's own schedule of charges sets the size of a late fee; this explains the rules, not any bank's charges.

The three rules in six numbers

3 days — after the due date, before a late fee or a "past due" report is allowed · 2022 — since when that has been the rule · 9th, 16th, 23rd and month-end — the dates banks now report on · 4 days — the time a bank has to send each report to the bureaus · 1 January 2027 — the start of the bundling and dark-pattern bans · ₹500 a day — what a bank owes you for each day it delays closing your card

The 3-day grace on late fees: already the rule

Paragraph 23(5) of RBI's card directions reads: card-issuers "shall report a credit card account as 'past due' to credit information companies (CICs) or levy penal charges, viz. late payment charges and other related charges, if any, only when a credit card account remains 'past due' for more than three days". It adds two things. The days past due, and the late fee, are "computed from the payment due date mentioned in the credit card statement". And late charges "shall be levied, only on the outstanding amount after the due date, and not on the total amount due".

The same words were in RBI's 2022 Master Direction, which the 2025 directions replaced. So why do reports call it new? On 27 April 2026 RBI issued an amendment to paragraph 23(5), in force from 1 April 2027. It keeps every word of the rule. It changes only the document the days past due are counted under, from the old prudential norms to RBI's new asset classification directions of 2026. The grace period does not change.

What it means for one bill. Say the statement shows a due date of 5 November and a total due of ₹40,000:

You payDays past dueLate feeReported to the bureaus as past due
₹40,000 by 5 November0NoneNo
₹40,000 on 8 November3NoneNo
₹40,000 on 9 November4Allowed, counted from 5 NovemberAllowed
₹30,000 by 5 November, the rest on 12 November7, on ₹10,000Allowed, but worked out on the ₹10,000 left unpaid, not the ₹40,000 billAllowed

Two limits on the grace. It covers the late fee and the report, not interest. The directions say the interest-free period "is suspended if any balance of the previous month's bill is outstanding", so a part-paid bill still costs interest on the balance. And the three days count from the due date on the statement, so a payment that takes a day or two to reach the bank should be started early.

Credit reports four times a month: already started

This one is new, and it has already begun. Until 30 June 2026, under RBI's circular of 8 August 2024, lenders updated the credit bureaus "on a fortnightly basis (i.e., as on 15th and last day of the respective month)", within seven days. From 1 July 2026, the amended Credit Information Reporting directions change that for banks, and the matching directions for the bureaus change it on their side:

  • Lenders report credit information "as on 9th, 16th, 23rd and last day of the month".
  • For the 9th, 16th and 23rd they send only accounts that changed: new accounts, closed accounts, repayments, changes in balance, and accounts with an overdue amount. These go to the bureaus within four calendar days.
  • The full file, every active account as on the last day of the month, goes by the 5th of the next month.
  • The bureaus report to RBI any lender that misses the timelines.

What it means for your score. Pay off a card on 10 November and the change is in the data as on 16 November, due at the bureaus by 20 November. Under the old rule the next reference date would have been 30 November, with seven days to report. The faster updates work both ways: a payment that goes past the three-day grace is also reported sooner. "Weekly" is a fair shorthand, though the gaps are not exactly seven days.

The bundled-sale ban: not in force yet

Many reports say a ban on forced bundling took effect on 1 July 2026. That was the date in RBI's draft of 11 February 2026. The final directions, issued on 15 June 2026 after RBI considered the feedback, start on 1 January 2027 for commercial banks, small finance banks, cooperative and regional rural banks, NBFCs and housing finance companies. For a commercial bank they add these rules:

  • No compulsory bundling (paragraph 85V). A bank "shall not resort to compulsory bundling" of a third-party product with its own. RBI defines bundling as making one product "conditional upon availment of another". So a card or loan cannot be made to depend on buying the bank's insurance. If a third-party product is genuinely needed to cover a risk, the customer may buy it "from any TPPS Provider", not only the bank's partner. A package taken with your voluntary consent, or given free, is not bundling.
  • No purchases funded from your loan without consent (paragraph 85W). A bank may not pay for a product, its own or another company's, out of a loan sanctioned to you without your explicit consent.
  • No dark patterns (paragraph 85X). A bank's apps and websites, and those of its sales agents, "do not deploy any dark pattern". The list of examples includes "offering customers life-time free credit cards, without disclosing the condition of minimum value of transactions required", cashback offers whose fine print adds conditions, and making a product easy to sign up for but hard to cancel.
  • Bundling is mis-selling. The definition of mis-selling now includes "compulsory bundling of another product / service with sale of the requested product / service".

Some of this already applies to cards. The card directions require the issuer to "obtain explicit consent" before adding any insurance cover to a card. They also bar unsolicited cards and upgrades: a bank that bills you for one must reverse the charge and pay you twice its value (paragraph 11(4)).

The card rights that are already yours

RuleWhat it gives youWhere
Closing a cardDone within seven working days once dues are paid, on request through any channel. After that the bank owes you ₹500 for each calendar day of delayParagraph 19
Unsolicited card or upgradeCharges reversed, and a penalty to you of twice their valueParagraph 11(4)
Billing cycleYou can change the cycle's start or closing date at least once, for instance to match your salary dateParagraph 29
Late fee and reportingNeither until the account is more than three days past due, and the fee only on the unpaid partParagraph 23(5)
InterestCharged only on the outstanding amount, adjusted for payments, refunds and reversalsParagraph 23(6)

If a bank does not follow a rule, complain to the bank first. The card directions say that if it does not respond within 30 days, rejects the complaint or leaves you unsatisfied, you can complain to the RBI Ombudsman, online at cms.rbi.org.in. Keep the statement, the due date and the payment record.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is there a 3-day grace period on credit card payments? Yes. Under paragraph 23(5) of RBI's card directions, a card account can be reported as past due, or charged a late fee, only when it is more than three days past the due date on the statement. A bill paid within three days of the due date carries neither. Interest can still apply.

Is the 3-day late fee rule new in 2026? No. It has been in RBI's card directions since 2022. The amendment of 27 April 2026, in force from 1 April 2027, keeps the rule word for word and only updates the cross-reference used to count the days.

Is the late fee charged on the whole bill? No. Late charges may be levied only on the amount outstanding after the due date, not on the total amount due. A bank's schedule of charges sets the fee for each band of that amount.

How often is CIBIL updated now? Since 1 July 2026, banks report credit information as on the 9th, 16th, 23rd and last day of each month. Changes go to the bureaus within four calendar days, and the full monthly file by the 5th of the next month. Before July it was twice a month, within seven days.

How soon will paying off my credit card improve my credit score? The payment is in the next reference-date data your bank sends, so it reaches the bureaus within about a week or two. A balance cleared on the 10th is in the data as on the 16th, due at the bureaus by the 20th. How the score itself moves is the bureau's calculation.

Can a bank force me to buy insurance with a credit card or loan? From 1 January 2027, no. RBI's amended directions bar compulsory bundling of a third-party product with a bank's own. If insurance is genuinely required as a risk cover, you may buy it from any provider. The card directions already require explicit consent before a bank adds insurance to a card.

When does the RBI ban on dark patterns start? On 1 January 2027, for banks, NBFCs and other regulated lenders, under the amendments issued on 15 June 2026. One of RBI's examples is a "lifetime free" card advertised without disclosing the spending needed to keep the fee waived.

How long does a bank have to close my credit card? Seven working days from the request, once dues are paid. After that it owes you ₹500 for each calendar day of delay.

The rules are as in force or notified on 29 October 2026, in the versions for commercial banks; small finance banks, cooperative banks and NBFCs have matching directions. This explains RBI's rules; it is not advice on any card or lender.

Sources

9 official sources, linked
Reserve Bank of India

The rules and figures in this article can be checked against these sources.

Use it

The tools for this piece.

Run the figures the piece talks about — everything works in your browser, nothing is stored.